Geo-engineering experiment

The climatology component of the Antarctic 2.0 ° C project is structured around three studies based on three research axes:

  • the first takes place within the framework of a Master 2 internship at IGE from February to July 2021.

  • The second axis will be a two-month experimental approach at the level of the Antarctic Peninsula from January to February 2022.

  • The third level of study will correspond to a doctoral thesis which will begin in September 2022.

Understanding the causes of variations in the surface mass balance in Antarctica, where 90% of the land's ice is concentrated, is fundamental to assessing the impact of climate change on the evolution of sea level. In recent years, with the acceleration of the iceberg breakup, the loss of continental ice in the polar regions has become a critical contribution to sea level rise (Rignot et al., 2019). The surface mass balance of much of Antarctica is controlled by a few extreme events, resulting in high natural variability in this variable. Recent studies (Wille et al., 2019, 2020) show the essential role of the frequency of occurrence of atmospheric rivers on these variations.

Atmospheric rivers are air currents that form atmospheric filaments carrying warm, humid air from low to high latitudes . Although rare phenomena in Antarctica, atmospheric rivers have a major influence on the continent's mass balance; they generate extreme precipitation in East Antarctica (Gorodetskaya et al., 2014), 40% of the summer surface melt in parts of West Antarctica and 40-80% of the total winter melt along numerous ice shelves (Wille et al., 2019).

What are the physical characteristics of these rivers?

In the field, the aim will be to follow atmospheric rivers with isotopic measurements of snowfall and radio soundings. It will also be necessary to install an automatic weather station which will remain in place until the next campaign. In addition, if a river passes during the period of presence on site, the release of sounding balloons will make it possible to characterize its atmospheric profile.

In collaboration with :

Vincent Favier - IGE

Irina Gorodetskaya - CESAM

Cecile Agosta - LSCE

Climatologie

Climatologie et impacts des rivières atmosphériques en Antarctique

La composante climatologie du projet Antarctique 2.0°C s’articule autour de trois études selon trois axes de recherche :

  • le premier se déroule dans le cadre d’un stage de Master 2 à l’IGE de février à juillet 2021.

  • Le deuxième axe sera une approche expérimentale de deux mois au niveau de la péninsule Antarctique de janvier à février 2022.

  • Le troisième niveau d’étude correspondra à une thèse de doctorat qui commencera en septembre 2022.

Comprendre les causes des variations du bilan de masse de surface en Antarctique, où se concentrent 90 % des glaces terrestres, est fondamental pour évaluer l’impact du changement climatique sur l’évolution du niveau des mers. Ces dernières années, avec l’accélération de la débâcle d’icebergs, la perte de glace continentale dans les régions polaires est devenue une contribution essentielle à la hausse du niveau des mers (Rignot et al., 2019). Le bilan de masse de surface d’une grande partie de l’Antarctique est contrôlé par quelques événements extrêmes, entraînant une forte variabilité naturelle de cette variable.  Des études récentes (Wille et al.,2019, 2020) montrent le rôle primordial de la fréquence d’occurrence de rivières atmosphériques sur ces variations.

Les rivières atmosphériques sont des courants aériens qui forment des filaments atmosphériques transportant de l’air chaud et humide des basses vers les hautes latitudes. Bien qu’elles soient des phénomènes rares en Antarctique, les rivières atmosphériques ont une influence majeure sur le bilan de masse du continent ; elles génèrent des précipitations extrêmes en Antarctique de l’est (Gorodetskaya et al., 2014), 40% de la fonte de la surface estivale dans certaines parties de l’Antarctique occidental et 40 à 80% de la fonte hivernale totale le long de nombreuses plateformes glaciaires (Wille et al., 2019).

Quelles sont les caractéristiques physiques de ces rivières ?

Sur le terrain, il s’agira de suivre les rivières atmosphériques avec des mesures isotopiques des précipitations neigeuses et des radiosondages. Il faudra également installer une station météorologique automatique qui restera en place jusqu’à la campagne suivante. Par ailleurs, si une rivière vient à passer pendant la durée de présence sur place, un lâcher de ballon-sondes permettra d’en caractériser le profil atmosphérique.

En collaboration avec :

Vincent Favier - IGE

Irina Gorodetskaya - CESAM

Cécile Agosta - LSCE